Friday, June 19, 2015

Giveaway + The Blog Most Likely To...

I'm super excited today to be a part of a fun campaign put together by the team at Penguin Teen to help celebrate The Boy Most Likely To, the upcoming release from author Huntley Fitzpatrick. I fell madly in love with Huntley on page one of her debut novel, My Life Next Door (you can read my full gushing review here), and I now attempt to wait patiently for anything and everything she writes. Something at which I fail miserably.

Penguin has asked those participating to play with the title of Huntley's newest book, changing it to The Blog Most Likely To and then choosing a superlative we think best fits us. Confession: I am terrible at things like this. When I have to be creative on the spot I completely freeze up and my mind goes utterly blank. The Blog Most Likely To Love Reading? The Blog Most Likely to Write Reviews? The Blog Most Likely To Have An Embarrassing Number of Book Boyfriends? (That last one is actually pretty good, I wish I'd thought of it prior to putting together this whole post ;-)

After thinking long and hard though, I finally came up with one that fits me pretty well. And so I give you the superlative for Supernatural Snark:

Yep. That sums me up pretty darn well. I CAN'T HELP IT, OKAY? A pretty cover will have me opening my wallet and grabbing my credit card faster than you can blink and I'm not ashamed of it. Below are just a handful of covers that made knowing anything about the story completely irrelevant because I needed them in my life regardless.


THAT TYPE! *dies* Trying to make an eight word title flow well and maintain legibility at a small size is no insignificant design challenge, and I just love how all the words fit together like a gorgeously eerie jigsaw puzzle. *pets type*


I love covers that take me a minute to make out what exactly I'm looking at, and when I do, bring a giddy grin to my face. Yes to creepy red smoke faces. (I actually think this is dye in water rather than smoke, but it doesn't even matter. It's gorgeous.) Yes to the way the word "bad" fills the spaces between the word "half". Yes to everything.


Hello there, nightmare-inducing cover. A bold, simplistic image will grab my attention faster than a busy design every single time, and this cover to me is striking for all it implies without having to work too hard. I'm not sure if I should be scared for whatever might be in the pram as it could be impaled at any second, or scared of it because it's the spawn of something that thought knives and scissors would work well as a mobile.


I wanted to end with a cover for an upcoming book since the above have all been out for a while, and when I saw the cover for The Forbidden Wish today I nearly died of want. IT'S SO PRETTY! I would pay a hefty price to wish this book into my hands immediately. Damn you February 2016, for being so very far away. *shakes fist*

Those are just a few of the books that made their way onto my list of must-haves based on their cover alone, and there will undoubtedly be many more to come. Sucker for a pretty face, party of one ;-)

I'd love to know what superlatives you guys would assign yourselves, so let me know in the comments! And don't forget to to mark your calendars for THE BOY MOST LIKELY TO, releasing August 18th from Dial.


Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.

And Alice is caught in the middle.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.



a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. That first book, yes the type, omg

  2. Yes, all those covers have me making grabby hands for sure!!
    If I had to choose I superlative, it'd probably be something along the lines of "most likely to encounter death by book avalanche or something like that! ;)

  3. I am so excited for this book! I love all of Huntley Fitzpatrick's books. I also like your superlative...I am horrible at coming up with them as well. I share mine next week. It's not very creative. At all. Anyway, I tend to let covers sway me when they shouldn't! You are certainly not alone in that! Happy Friday!

  4. I think we're all pretty guilty of doing this.
    Haha! I seriously love the cover of The Forbidden Wish. I can't wait to read the book. :D
    I'd probably go with The Blog (Or Blogger) Most Likely To Steal All the Book Boyfriends!

  5. I am very guilty of this too. I was thinking about doing this prompt as welll, but I am just like you- I completely freeze up when put on the spot. So far I have come up with...the blog most likely lots of books. haha I know, stop the presses...a book blog that reads books. Unheard of!!

    great post. I am going to drool over those covers some more :)

    Michelle @ Book Briefs

  6. Although my blog name says otherwise I am a sucker for gorgeous covers and I really do tend to base the book on the cover alone sometimes. Half Bad in one of my favourites too and Half Wild too. Great post! :)

  7. YAY! I'm so excite for this book! Thanks so much for the giveaway Jenny.

  8. I was going to do this but just didn't have the time, darn it! So glad you are Jenny and I couldn't agree more, this is definitely one I could say I am guilty of numerous times!

  9. I am so with you on these covers. Plus this one fits you. :) I hope I'd be in the running with the book boyfriends even though I haven't done that meme in a long time. I still haven't given up the keys to the book man harem!! ;D

  10. I love this!! I can see how covers attract your attention - I mean, you're a graphic designer for goodness sake! I would be the Blog Most Likely to Be on Top of My Reviews, because immediately after I finish a book, I write the review to retain my best thoughts and put in on the screen. I actually have an eARC of The Boy Most Likely To, and I LOVED the prequel, so I'm really excited to pick this book up!!

  11. I succumb to cover lust as well, Jenny. I do adore The Devil and the Deep Blue Sea's cover, too!

    We finally get Tim's story? I'm excited and nervous and thrilled to catch up with the lovely Garrett's again! Thanks for the giveaway! :)

  12. I got suckered into the first book by the cover, too! I'm absolutely terrible about picking a book by its cover. One of my favorites is the first book in Becca Fitzgerald's Hush Hush series, even though it's a pretty terrible read. The cover is just breathtaking!

  13. I am so guilty of this and despite knowing that a fantastic cover is my kryptonite still do it

  14. I'm guilty with cover lust as well, Jenny! Those covers are gorgeous too. Thanks for the Jessica Khoury book tease - I'm feeling needy now. Thanks for the wonderful giveaway!
    Have a great weekend :)

  15. This makes perfect sense! I mean, you MAKE covers, so it's something you'd really pay attention to. I like all of those too. ;)

  16. Haha oh yes I love this! And it's so true, I do the same thing ALL the time. I'm also so tempted to by hardcovers of books that I've disliked but have pretty covers just so they can pretty up my shelves whoops

  17. I love this post, Jenny--it's so clever and I absolutely agree that covers can totally suck me in with their designs. Great pick for your "Blog Most Likely To..." ;)

  18. It's hard to think of a superlative but you did well! I love the type on the Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, it's instantly engaging and kind of communicates what's inside you know? I think I'd be drawn more to books with pretty covers and questionable reviews, rather than fantastic but relatively unknown/average book covers.

  19. Ha!! Oh you're def not alone in this, Jenny. I think we're all tempted to pick up books based on their covers at least sometimes. I believe I've gotten a bit better at resisting pretty covers and giving the actual content of the book some thought than I used to, but I'm still only human. Typography is the number one thing that always gets me - Between the Devil cover is OMG GORGEOUS!!

  20. Oh, I am so much like this too! I think if these is an amazing cover or one that I especially love the book automatically goes on my TBR, whether I have read the synopsis or not. But then if the cover isn't as nice I actually will bother to do some more investigation, like reading the synopsis and some reviews xD