Friday, January 31, 2014

Uninvited Blog Tour: Character Interview + Giveaway

http://www.rockstarbooktours.com/2014/01/tour-schedule-uninvited-by-sophie-jordan.html

I'm thrilled today to welcome author Sophie Jordan and protagonist Davy to the blog as part of the promotional tour for the newly released young adult dystopian novel, Uninvited. I absolutely adored this book (read my full review) and simply fell in love with Davy, Sean, and their horrifyingly plausible world, so I was super excited to have the chance to ask Davy a few questions. There's a fantastic giveaway for this tour, so be sure and check the bottom of the post for all the details as well as a list of the other participating blogs!

INTERVIEW WITH DAVY

You’ve now experienced what it’s like on the other side of the HTS diagnosis. If you could tell the public something they don’t already know about HTS and those who carry the gene, what would you most like to say?

This gene doesn’t define me … it doesn’t define any of us… but treating us like this? Like criminals before we’ve even done anything wrong? What do you think is going to happen….

Your life changed in a single instant, the HTS gene bringing with it betrayal and pain you never imagined you’d be forced to endure. This is clearly not the life you ever wanted for yourself, but what’s one positive thing, aside from Sean, that’s resulted from your diagnosis?

It burst the bubble in which I was living in and forced me to question prejudices I didn’t even know I had. I’m learning not to judge people on sight … or based on what others say about them. 

If you could trade your HTS gene for the supernatural ability of your choice, which one would you most like to have? Which one do you think Sean would choose?

I’d like the ability to become invisible. Seriously. That would be handy in a world where people judge indiscriminately … or with so little proof or evidence of wrong doing. I could just *poof*. Disappear. Sean … he probably would be exactly who he is. He never runs from anything or feels the need to change who he is.

Your world is a dark one that gets darker every day as people continue to allow fear of the unknown to rule them. If time travel were possible and you were able to jump ahead one hundred years, what do you either hope or fear you would find in that future?

I hope people would come to their senses. That the power and influence of the Wainwright agency would be a thing of the past and everyone wouldn’t be so afraid anymore. That we would be a country where a person’s actions speak alone for his/herself.

Those in power use a tattoo around the neck with a prominent “H” to brand individuals who exhibit more violent tendencies than the rest of their HTS counterparts. If you could get a tattoo of your own in defiance of the “H” tattoo, what would it look like?

LOL … um, it might not be polite to say… but you could probably guess..

• • • • • • • • • • • 

UNINVITED
(January 28th, HarperTeen)


The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.



 • • • • • • • • • • •

SOPHIE JORDAN


Sophie Jordan grew up in the Texas hill country where she wove fantasies of dragons, warriors, and princesses. A former high school English teacher, she's also the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Avon historical romances. She now lives in Houston with her family. When she's not writing, she spends her time overloading on caffeine (lattes and Diet cherry Coke preferred), talking plotlines with anyone who will listen (including her kids), and cramming her DVR with true-crime and reality-TV shows. Sophie also writes paranormal romances under the name Sharie Kohler.

WebsiteFacebookTwitterGoodreads

• • • • • • • • • • 

GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway

WEEK ONE

1/27/2014- Nose GrazeReview
1/28/2014- Magical Urban Fantasy ReadsInterview
1/29/2014- YA BibliophileReview 
1/30/2014FiktshunGuest Post
1/31/2014Supernatural SnarkInterview

WEEK TWO
2/3/2014K-BooksReview
2/4/2014Addicted ReadersInterview
2/5/2014Paranormal book clubReview
2/6/2014Mostly YA Book ObsessedReview
2/7/2014A Book and a LatteGuest Post
 

31 comments:

  1. I loved the trailer. This sounds like a unique story.

    ReplyDelete
  2. "I’m learning not to judge people on sight … or based on what others say about them. " -- that is hard and props for Davy for trying to be a better person and not judge people so much. Especially since she, herself, could be judged very easily based on this gene test. Oh, and invisibility? Ha! That's always something that I'd go for :D Great interview, though I'm not surprised by this ;)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sounds like Davy has the right idea with invisibility. I think if I were in her shoes I'd want to make myself as scarce as possible. :-) This world sounds so unfair, and it seems like the only people who really see that are the ones who are on the wrong side of the HTS diagnosis. Awesome interview, can't wait to read this!

    ReplyDelete
  4. It sounds like a great book! I love the cover. Congrats, Sophie!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Sounds like an amazing book and I hope I get to read it!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Loved the character interviews, makes me even more excited for the next book to be out!

    Have a wonderful weekend Jenny!

    ReplyDelete
  7. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I am looking forward to reading this and I don't usually get excited about YA :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Davy seems to have a good head on her shoulders. I, too, would hope that we'd get our act straight in the future, but alas, we are bound to screw something up. Great interview!

    ReplyDelete
  10. LOLOL I love Davy's last answer. Davy is one of the best characters I've read in a long time. I absolutely ADORED Uninvited.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I hope people come to their senses, too! Amazing how those ingrained and taught prejudices spring to the forefront, isn't it?

    ReplyDelete
  12. Okay, based on this interview, this is going to the top of my TBR list. I could replace HTS with something else and it would definitely make people think, maybe that was Ms. Jordan's intent. And Jenny as always, great questions!!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Ooh, I love this interview, Jenny! Your questions always hit the mark perfectly and like Davy, I'd love the power of invisibility. Thanks for sharing this with us, dear!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Thanks for the great interview and giveaway! Love this book sooo much :)

    ReplyDelete
  15. Such a thought provoking read. I like that Davy is learning to let go of prejudices! Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  16. I already love the sound of this character and the interview! My problem with becoming invisible is that I would *poof* at the most inopportune times or I would be permanently invisible. LOL I'm so optimistic.

    ReplyDelete
  17. Lovely interview, ladies! I can see why there is a twinge of anger from Davy, the whole situation sounds entirely unfair! Thanks for the giveaway. :)

    ReplyDelete
  18. Great character interview, Davy has had to face a lot and I love that she questions everything.

    ReplyDelete
  19. This book just sounds amazing. I'd love to read it then share it with my book-loving niece.
    Dede

    ReplyDelete
  20. You can tell Davy has really grown throughout the book from her answers in this interview, Jenny. She's a smart girl and good for her for learning to accept that the killer gene doesn't affect her.
    Thanks for sharing, Jenny!

    ReplyDelete
  21. I would have never thought of something like this for a story. Thank you Sophie! I can't wait to read it. :D

    ReplyDelete
  22. Ohhhh! Can't wait to get my hands on this novel!

    ReplyDelete
  23. I loved loved loved Uninvited! It made me excited to read dystopian again. I am suggesting this one to my students all year.

    ReplyDelete
  24. I can't wait to read this, cross between Minority Report and The Scarlet Letter makes it so much more intriguing!

    ReplyDelete
  25. l love your other books and I can't wait to read this.

    ReplyDelete
  26. I love, love the trailer! I also like the sound of Davy. She seems like a character who wouldn't take any crap!

    ReplyDelete
  27. Davy's response to the first question: EXACTLY!!! No one is born a criminal but saying it over and over again may turn them into one. I'm such a huge fan of this book and this interviews shows a perfect image of Davy I love. Thanks for sharing :)

    ReplyDelete