Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Interview: Kiersten White + Illusions of Fate


Today I'm thrilled to have author Kiersten White stopping by the blog to answer a few questions about her newest release, Illusions of Fate. I've been counting the days until this book released ever since I stumbled upon the reveal for the gorgeous cover, so I was a very happy girl earlier in the month when it finally hit shelves. Yes to magic, romance, and enigmatic young lords named Finn. Welcome back to Supernatural Snark Kiersten!

If tomorrow you suddenly found yourself in a world like that of Albion’s nobility–where society is rigidly structured and the rules of etiquette are strictly adhered to–how well do you think you’d fare? Is there any one etiquette rule you would have particular trouble following?

Well, that depends on whether or not I am actually a noble. If I were a noble, I think I’d tend to be more like Eleanor, Jessamin’s newfound best friend. She works within the structures of her society, but does so cleverly and subversively. By staying in the prescribed boundaries and playacting her part well, she actually carves out a tremendous amount of freedom for herself. As far as the rule I’d have a hard time with, it would be that women are inherently lesser than men. I’ve never been able to handle people who think that very well.

Jessamin is new to the money, power and magic found in Albion. If she could borrow a magical ability found in any piece of YA fiction to help her navigate her new world, what book would she choose and which power would she want most?

I think she would focus less on trying to navigate or become a part of the power and magic of Albion, since she doesn’t see herself as lacking without them. But if she could, she’d borrow apparition from the Harry Potter series to visit her home island and bask in the sunlight whenever she was overwhelmed with the gray and the rain of Albion.

There’s something undeniably appealing about fictional men who have an air of mystery about them; we can’t help but want to dig through all their layers and see what they’re hiding. Who would you say is your all-time favorite enigmatic romantic hero or love interest?

Well, considering I describe Finn as Mister Darcy meets Howl, I’m going to have to go with Mister Darcy. There’s just something so satisfying about seeing him gradually drop his walls and embrace love!

We know from the beginning that Finn is keeping secrets, but what’s one small thing about Jessamin–a quirk or habit maybe–that she hopes Finn never finds out about?

Honestly, Jessamin is quite comfortable with herself. The only shame she carries is the way she manipulated her connections to get into a good school because her race prevented them from considering her actual merits—and she finds herself telling Finn as much in a favorite scene of mine!

Hating a good villain never fails to bring a smile to my face, so I’m very much looking forward to meeting Lord Downpike. If you could ask the author of a villain you absolutely love to hate one question about that character, what would be the first thing out of your mouth?

“Hey, Leigh Bardugo, can you give me The Darkling’s phone number?”

When reading, what are the top three traits you love the female protagonist to possess?

A strong sense of self (even/especially if it is challenged as the narrative progresses)

Intelligence (in any of its many, many forms)

Loyalty to those she loves

If Jessamin were to find out you penned her story, every struggle and every moment of joy, how tempted do you think she would be to ask you to go back and change something small?

This is something I’ve never been asked before! I don’t think she would ask for anything for herself, but she would certainly ask that her friend’s suffering be removed, and that a certain tragic event be edited out entirely. Coincidentally, the second request is the one I expect most readers to howl about, and my husband to never forgive me for. You’ll know it when it happens…and I apologize in advance.

Thanks so much for answering my questions Kiersten!

• • • • • • • • • • • 

ILLUSIONS OF FATE


“I did my best to keep you from crossing paths with this world. And I shall do my best to protect you now that you have.”

Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets Finn, a gorgeous, enigmatic young lord who introduces her to the secret world of Albion’s nobility, a world that has everything Jessamin doesn’t—power, money, status…and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, dangerous secrets that the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits and her determination, can stop him.

Kiersten White captured readers’ hearts with her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy and its effortless mix of magic and real-world teenage humor. She returns to that winning combination of wit, charm, and enchantment in Illusions of Fate, a sparkling and romantic new novel perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, The Madman’s Daughter, and Libba Bray.



• • • • • • • • • • •

KIERSTEN WHITE


Kiersten White is the NYT bestselling author of the Paranormalcy trilogy and the Mind Games series, as well as several standalone novels. She has one tall husband and three small children and lives near the ocean, where her life is perfectly normal.

30 comments:

  1. I am just loving that cover to pieces

    ReplyDelete
  2. I adore the cover, and I'm pretty sure the scene she refers to is the one I'm also upset about! Loved this book and I really hope that Kiersten will write more stories about this world, maybe more about Eleanor??
    Fantastic interview, Jenny!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've heard so many amazing things about Eleanor Pili! I can't wait to meet her. September was a crazy review month for me, but I have a little more time now and Illusions of Fate is at the top of my list:)

      Delete
    2. I cannot wait to hear what you think of it, Jenny!

      Delete
  3. Thank you for the wonderful interview Jenny and Kiersten! I have to say the cover for Illusions of Fate is simply stunning, and I can't wait to meet Jessamin and Finn :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I need to read this book, Jenny. A lot of people loved it while I wasn't a fan of Kiersten White's previous books, I think this one will appeal to me a lot more. Also, I love this interview. I love how she described her qualities of a female heroine. Those 3 qualities definitely make the top of my list too. And Finn is described as Darcy? I HAVE to meet him.
    Thanks for sharing! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Those are definitely three qualities I look for as well Nick. And yes to anyone who's even remotely similar to Mr. Darcy!!!

      Delete
  5. I loved Eleanor, I think I would want to be like her as well.
    What a wonderful interview Jenny, thanks so much for sharing this with us!! I loved this read and I really do hope more people try it and love it too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm so excited to meet her Ali, I've heard amazing things:)

      Delete
  6. I can NOT wait to get into my copy of this one and I had a blast reading through this interview! The questions were fresh, fun and original and Kiersten's answers were a delight to read! I'll have to come back and re-read once I finally do read the book, so all the allusions to the plot will mean something more. Fantastic post ^^

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks so much Micheline, so glad you enjoyed it!

      Delete
  7. Such a fun interview. I need to read this!! :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Awesome interview! This book sounds AMAZING! And any mention of The Darkling gets my attention! lol. I need to get my hands on this one asap!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right. The Darkling for the win. ALWAYS:)

      Delete
  9. Fantastic interview! I really enjoyed this book and loved the character of Jessamin, but my favorite was Eleanor….loved, loved her. She made me laugh out loud. Thanks for sharing this interview, Jenny!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think she's going to win my heart as well Christina. I love a girl that can make me laugh!

      Delete
  10. I have a copy of this one I still haven't read but I absolutely adore kierstenwhite's work and the cover for this one! I'm sure I'll enjoy it :)

    Thanks for the interview! I love getting to know authors more!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're welcome Lily! Can't wait to see what you think of this one:)

      Delete
  11. I really want to read or listen to this Jenny. The cover is fab and the story has me so curious! Fantastic interview as always!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love this cover something fierce:)

      Delete
  12. Definitely enjoyed this one (god, such a gorgeous cover, you know?!?). Great interview, as always!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm so glad you did, I can't wait to finally get to read it for myself:)

      Delete
  13. That was a nice interview although I have read this book and did not enjoy it. :(

    ReplyDelete
  14. I can't wait to read this one, Jenny!

    ReplyDelete
  15. Ooh apparition from Harry Potter is definitely one of my favorite powers too! I have a copy of this and I'm very excited to start it - hopefully soon! :-) Lovely interview!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Great interview! I still need to read this book myself.

    ReplyDelete